LSU linebacker White wins Butkus Award


LSU‘s Devin White is the Butkus Award winner as the best linebacker in the country.

The winner was announced Wednesday. White is the first LSU player to win the Butkus in its 34-year history and the third straight winner from a Southeastern Conference school. Roquan Smith of Georgia won it last season, and Reuben Foster of Alabama was the winner in 2016.

White, a junior, led the 11th-ranked Tigers with 115 total tackles, including 12 tackles for loss. He also had three sacks, five pass breakups, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries.

Josh Allen of Kentucky finished second in the voting, followed Michigan‘s Devin Bush, Alabama‘s Dylan Moses and Clemson‘s Tre Lamar.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Blixt takes Colonial lead; Na, Finau right behind
Christian Yelich: The new ‘five-tool player’
Callaway stays; Cespedes breaks ankle on ranch
Jaguars believe Nick Foles will buck free-agent QB trend
Du Plessis, Phehlukwayo and Ngidi brush aside Sri Lanka

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *